Logo Powiat Suwalski


ul. Świerkowa 60, 16-400 Suwałki
tel. centrala: +48 87 5659200,
fax: +48 87 5664718

poniedziałek - piątek 7:30 - 15:30
Kasa Starostwa Powiatowego:
poniedziałek - piątek 8.00 -14.30
Wydział Komunikacji,
Wydział Architektury i Budownictwa

poniedziałek - piątek 8:00 - 14.30
Polish Version Litvian Version
  • History

    The first settlers in today?s Suwalszczyzna (Suwałki region) were Yotvingians who settled here around 500BC. The Yotvingians inhabited the area from the neighbourhood of Wiżajny in the North to the Biebrza Valley in the South. The western border of their settlement was the belt of the Great Masurian Lakes District. 
    The Yotvingians formed a loose confederation based on family and tribal ties. The tribes were governed by councils of elders.
  • Natural Environment

    Geographically, Suwalszczyzna (the Suwałki subregion) is part of the Lithuanian Lakeland, on the Lithuanian side it is called Suvalkija. Its climate is heavily influenced by Arctic and continental winds. And it is due to the impact of the cold winds that the region ranks among the coldest areas of Poland. Winter lasts here from 100 to 120 days, summer is usually short and hot. 
    The Suwałki land is one of the most picturesque regions of Poland, nature assorted here an exceptional variety of land surface forms.
  • Economy

    The Poviat of Suwałki is a typical farming area. The fact is reflected in the Poviat land use structure: arable land - 70%, forests 17%, waters - 8%, other use - 8%. 
    The soils capability and climactic conditions of the Poviat are below average for Poland, showing distinctly shorter vegetation periods.
    The strong variation of land surface causes intensive runoff and irreversible loss of part of the beneficial for agriculture precipitation water. In spite of the difficult agricultural conditions, farms cover 79% of the area of the Poviat. 

  • Turism

    The Poviat of Suwałki is situated in the north-eastern corner of Poland and is one of the 17 poviats (counties) of the Podlaskie Voivodship. It is composed of nine rural communes: Bakałarzewo, Filipów, Jeleniewo, Przerośl, Raczki, Rutka-Tartak, Suwałki, Szypliszki and Wiżajny, covering the total area of 1308km2.The city of Suwałki constitutes also a separate municipality.
  • Calendar of events

    Information about cyclic events. This is link to page about turistic in our poviat